Sunday, March 31, 2013

Allure Freebies: April 2013

If you follow me on twitter, you will notice that I frequently enter giveaways. Entering giveaways is one of my guilty pleasures and I have been fortunate enough to win a few. Recently, I have won a 3-month subscription to Conscious box, a January Glossybox and a trio of First Aid Beauty products

During the first week of each month, Allure magazine runs giveaways for free full-sized products. The first 500 Allure readers to sign up at noon EDT on the day of each giveaway will win. 

Friday, March 29, 2013

Sephora Promo Codes: Updated March 29, 2013


Sephora is one of my favorite beauty and skincare stores. I prefer to order online to take advantage of the enticing promo codes, 3 free samples and 4-8% cashback from ebates or fatwallet. Like many savvy Sephora shoppers, I search for the best promo codes before I make an online purchase; however, this process can take a significant amount of time. So, to save you that time, I compiled all the working Sephora promo codes in this post! 


I listed these promo codes to the best of my ability, so please let me know if you notice any mistakes. Also, although I personally checked all of these codes at checkout, I can not guarantee that they will be in stock when you make your next purchase. If you have any promo codes to share, or if any of the listed codes have expired, please let me know and I'll update the post.

Enjoy your next Sephora haul!


Tuesday, March 26, 2013

Winter Skincare Essentials and Beauty Favorites

Spring is officially here, which means that it is time to re-consider your daily skincare and beauty routine. As the weather warms up, I will start to phase out my heavy creams for lighter moisturizers. Also, I will be more vigilant about re-applying sunscreen throughout the day.

My winter skincare essentials and beauty favorites!

Sunday, March 24, 2013

Blush Mystery Beauty Box March 2013 Review

I accidentally (*read story at the end of this post) received a blush mystery box this past week. 

Blush's mystery beauty box is one of the latest beauty boxes to hit the market. It was such a big hit that the first box sold out in 3 hours! The Blush mystery beauty box includes skin care, hair care and make-up products that are hand-picked by their panel of beauty experts. Each Blush mystery beauty box features mostly full-size and some travel-size products that are worth at least $100. Finally, shipping is free for the Blush mystery beauty box.




Saturday, March 23, 2013

Barkbox March 2013 Review

Contents: This month's BarkBox was curated by E. Jean Carroll, an advice columnist for Elle magazine. Our Small & Cute box included 5 items. 


Friday, March 22, 2013

Sephora Promo Codes: Updated March 22, 2013


Sephora is one of my favorite beauty and skincare stores. I prefer to order online to take advantage of the enticing promo codes, 3 free samples and 4-8% cashback from ebates or fatwallet. Like many savvy Sephora shoppers, I search for the best promo codes before I make an online purchase; however, this process can take a significant amount of time. So, to save you that time, I compiled all the working Sephora promo codes in this post! 

I listed these promo codes to the best of my ability, so please let me know if you notice any mistakes. Also, although I personally checked all of these codes at checkout, I can not guarantee that they will be in stock when you make your next purchase. If you have any promo codes to share, or if any of the listed codes have expired, please let me know and I'll update the post.

Enjoy your next Sephora haul!


Thursday, March 21, 2013

Barkbox Summary


Box: Barkbox is a NYC-based monthly subscription box for dogs. Simply choose a box size (Small & Cute for 1-20 lbs, Just Right for 20-50 lbs or Big & Bold for 50+ lbs dogs) and be prepared for your dog to be spoiled! 



Products: 4-6 items including treats, toys, grooming and hygiene products. All treats are made in the USA or Canada. All products are tested by the office dogs of Barkbox



Cost:
  • Monthly subscription: $29 per month
  • 3-month subscription: $69 ($23 per month)
  • 6-month subscription: $108 ($18 per month)
  • Barkbox deals have been featured on both Groupon and Fab.
  • Shipping is free, even to Canada! 
  • 10% of all proceeds go to a local shelter or rescue. We adopted our dog from a shelter, so we greatly appreciate that Barkbox considers this an important aspect of their business plan.


Rewards program:
  • Earn 1 free month for each person you refer to BarkBox.
  • People who are referred get $5 off their first subscription.


Verdict: We have been Barkbox subscribers since June 2012. I appreciate that all the edible goods are made in the USA and Canada. Our dog loves the edibles and toys, while I love the inventive products. One of my favorite Barkbox discoveries is the Gulpy water dispenser, which is perfect for summer-time walks and hikes. The high-quality products and 10% shelter/rescue donation makes Barkbox a great subscription box!


Disclosure: I am not a sponsor (paid or unpaid) for Barkbox.  Post contains a referral link.  

Tuesday, March 19, 2013

Conscious Box March 2013 Promo Code and Review

I won a giveaway for a 3-month subscription for a Classic Conscious box and I just received the March box!


Conscious box

Friday, March 15, 2013

Sephora Promo Codes: Updated March 15, 2013


Sephora is one of my favorite beauty and skincare stores. I prefer to order online to take advantage of the enticing promo codes, 3 free samples and 4-8% cashback from ebates or fatwallet. Like many savvy Sephora shoppers, I search for the best promo codes before I make an online purchase; however, this process can take a significant amount of time. So, to save you that time, I compiled all the working Sephora promo codes in this post! 

I listed these promo codes to the best of my ability, so please let me know if you notice any mistakes. Also, although I personally checked all of these codes at checkout, I can not guarantee that they will be in stock when you make your next purchase. If you have any promo codes to share, or if any of the listed codes have expired, please let me know and I'll update the post.

Enjoy your next Sephora haul!

Thursday, March 14, 2013

Schick Hydro Silk Razor Review


I received an invitation from BzzAgent to try the Schick Hydro Silk Razor. I was actually first introduced to this razor through my Birchbox subscription, so I knew that I liked this razor before I had even received my BzzKit!  



Wednesday, March 13, 2013

Morningstar Farms Veggie Burger Review



I received an invitation from BzzAgent to try MorningStar Farms veggie burgers. I was happy to receive this MorningStar campaign invitation because I have never tried veggie burgers, I love trying new foods and veggie burgers are a healthier alternative to meat burgers. I am not a vegetarian or vegan, so I went into this campaign with an open-mind. 

Sunday, March 10, 2013

Contact Me

If you have any questions or are a company that would like to submit products for consideration, please e-mail me: CautiouslyOptimisticReviews@gmail.com


You can also reach me on twitter: CautiouslyOpRev

Disclosure, PR and Referrals

This policy is valid beginning March 10, 2013.



Disclosure

This blog is a personal blog written and edited by me.  
  • Posts may contain referral links, which will be clearly stated in the blog post.  I appreciate when you click on these links because it helps support me as a blogger.
  • The site is also supported by paid advertisements and is a member of VigLink, an affiliate marketing link. This means that I receive a small commission of sales if readers click on a link and make a purchase.
  • The views and reviews found in this blog (with the exception of user comments) are unbiased and are solely based on my honest opinions and personal experiences.  
  • Any product claim, statistic, quote or other representation about a product or service should be verified with the manufacturer, provider or party in question.
  • This blog does not contain any content which might present a conflict of interest.
  • All content of this blog is protected by Copyright law. Any unauthorized copying or reproduction of material is prohibited without express permission from myself. 



PR:

  • I would be happy to consider accepting products for review or mention from cosmetic brands, haircare brands, skincare brands, from PR companies, from retailers, or from companies directly. Products that are furnished for purposes of review will be clearly disclosed. 
  • Receipt of products, solicited or unsolicited, does not mean that I have entered into a binding contract in which publishing an editorial review is mandatory.
  • Receipt of products does not guarantee a favorable review.
  • Receipt of products does not entitle companies or PR agencies to edit or pre-approve said review.
  • I do not accept cash compensation to endorse any products or services, nor to write a positive review.  



Referral links

I earn free credits with referral links. I appreciate when you click on these links because it helps support me as a blogger. 
  • Beauty subscription boxes:
    • Beauty Army: 1 free month for every 3 people who sign up through my referral link.
    • Birchbox: 50 points (equal to $5 credit) for each person who signs up through my referral link. Never heard of Birchbox?  Read my Birchbox summary.
    • Glossybox: 1 free month for every 5 people who sign up through my referral link. 
  • Lifestyle subscription boxes:
    • Barkbox:  1 free month for every person who signs up through my referral link. Never heard of Barkbox? Read my Barkbox summary.
    • Conscious Box: $5 for each person who signs up through my referral link.
    • KLUTCHClub: 100 Kb points for each person (new subscribers receive 50 points for signing up) who signs up through my referral link.  A KLUTCHbox is ~375 Kb points. 
    • Love With Food: $2 for each person who signs up through my referral link.
    • Popsugar must have box: 1 free month for every 2 people who sign up through my referral link.
  • Online shopping:
    • Blush/DermStore/HairEnvy (no link): $10 credit for each person who signs up through my referral link. Please e-mail me at cautiouslyoptimisticreviews@gmail.com for a referral code to get $10 off your first purchase of $30 or more.
    • Ebates: $5 credit for each person who signs up through my referral link.
    • Fab: $30 credit for every 10 people who sign up through my referral link. 
    • Fatwallet: $5 credit for each person who signs up through my referral link. 
    • Gilt: $25 credit for each person who signs up through my referral link.
    • Groupon: $10 credit for each person who signs up through my referral link.
    • Hautelook: $10 credit for each person who signs up through my referral link.
    • Little Black Bag: Free item (worth up to $25) for each person who signs up through my referral link.
    • My Habit: $25 credit for each person who signs up through my referral link.
    • Rue La La: $10 credit for each person who signs up through my referral link.
    • Sole Society: $25 credit for each person who signs up through my referral link.


Companies that provide free products for reviews:

  • BzzAgent
  • Influenster



This disclosures page was last updated September 1, 2013.





Saturday, March 9, 2013

Birchbox March 2013 Review

Contents: The Birchbox theme this month is 'March Madness'. My box included 5 items (4 items & 1 beauty extra). 


Birchbox March 2013

Glade Expressions Review


I received an invitation from BzzAgent to try Glade's new Expressions collection. The two items in the Expressions collection are an oil diffuser and a fragrance mist. I was thrilled to receive this Glade campaign invitation because we have a dog and we like to exercise, so I appreciate products that can keep help our apartment smelling nice and fresh. 

Birchbox Summary


Box: Birchbox is a monthly beauty and lifestyle subscription box that made its' debut in September 2010.



My July 2012 Birchbox
Products: 4-6 sample products (including deluxe samples and occasionally full-size items) that are customized to your beauty profile. 


My November 2012 Birchbox
Cost:
  • Monthly subscription: $10
  • 3-month subscription: $30
  • 6-month subscription: $60
  • 12-month subscription: $110


Rewards program:
  • Earn 10 points for completing a product feedback survey (for each item in your monthly Birchbox
  • Earn 1 point for each dollar spent on full-size product purchases in the Birchbox shop 
  • 100 points = $10 credit towards full-size products in the Birchbox shop


Verdict: I have been a Birchbox subscriber since April 2012. The rewards program makes it the "best value" of all the monthly beauty and lifestyle subscription boxes.

My February 2013 Birchbox

Do you subscribe to Birchbox?



Disclosure: I am not a sponsor (paid or unpaid) for Birchbox.  Post contains a referral link.  

Friday, March 8, 2013

February Empties

One of the topics that I enjoy the most on blogs and youtube videos are monthly "empties". It's a summary of products that folks have used up. It usually includes a brief description of the product and whether or not it is worth re-purchasing. Without further ado, here are my February empties.



Glossybox March 2013 Promo Code and Spoiler

Glossybox is a monthly beauty subscription box that made its' U.S. debut in May 2012. The box includes 5 travel-size (sometimes includes full-size) products that arrive in a beautiful pink box. You can sign up for a $21 monthly subscription, $60 3-month subscription, $115 6-month subscription, or $220 12-month subscription. Shipping is included and you can unsubscribe at any time.




The March 2013 Glossybox theme is Spring Fling! Glossybox released the following statement about the upcoming box:



"Spring is everywhere, and here at Glossybox we couldn't be more excited! For us, it's all about renewal - updating your look. To help you shake off winter, we've arranged a delightful array of springtime beauty."


UPDATE: The promotion code is no longer valid!
Plus, if you sign up now through March 13, you will receive a FREE bonus shadow pen from Pixi Beauty. 

*Spoiler alert*

Wednesday, March 6, 2013

Hello Beautiful!

Thanks for visiting Cautiously Optimistic Reviews! 


Blog posts will include topics such as:

  • Monthly empties
  • Product reviews and favorites
  • Shopping coupons, promos and sales
  • Subscription boxes

I would love to learn what you would like to see on this blog.  See you soon!
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...